BB74 Not what was seen

Welcome to the continuing monthly EVE Blog Banters and our 74th edition! For more details about what the blog banters are, please visit the Blog Banter page.

So when this Blog Banter goes live, Fanfest will be over. Hungover geeks from around the world will be departing Reykjavik after a five-day binge of important internet spaceships and partying. Whether you were there in person, watched the streams or read the dev blogs on your mobile hidden under your work desk there was probably something in there that gave you a “nerd-boner”. What for you personally was the most important thing to come out of Fanfest 2016?

I thought about this one a lot and at first I almost wasn’t going to post to it.  There wasn’t anything I saw, directly, that ‘made’ Fanfest.  Or so I thought,  same old same old, trailers, vids, new games, old fixes, panels and drunken singing.  No ‘come to Jesus’ moment for me.  Or so I thought.

Then it hit me.  I was looking at the wrong things, paying attention to the details and missing the bigger picture.

Brace yourself.  Sappy Mike writing ahead.

I saw a love for the game from both the players and the makers.  I saw pride for what was made and what was broken.  People putting their hearts and souls into it and just down right celebrating this magnificent obsession we all have.  THAT was, for me the most important thing to come out of EveFanfest 2016.  Speakers were welcomed and listened to and even the bitter vets would lighten up for a moment before trying to regain their cool disdain.

The pubs ran out of beer.

*of course* there is no beer at Nora the day after *grumble*

3rd time in 7 days they run out of beer. Sheesj

 Seriously there was a party.

Oh there were disdainful locals commenting on ‘neckbeards’ but I live in a tourist destination as well, we love commenting on the tourists.

Most of all?  I saw the effort and volunteer hours put in by the CCP side.  Days and weeks of preparation, of practicing and making presentations.  They are programmers and game designers, not public speakers yet they did a damn good job, on their own time.

Be bitter all you want.  Snort and laugh at the silly old Mike and his Sappy stuff.  Probably drinks the blood of maple trees (I do, I do).

The biggest take away was the love for the game on all sides.  No more, no less.

flame away if you want, I have a smile on my face and am trying really hard to swing tickets and time for EveVegas2016.  IF I make it, I wants hugs.

fly it like you won it

m

other thoughts on this from Roc and Kirith

http://www.ninveah.com/2016/04/bb-74-building-future.html

https://rocwieler.com/2016/04/25/blog-banter-74-fanfest-2016s-biggest-reveal/

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to BB74 Not what was seen

  1. Catalina de Erauso says:

    So the greatest take away from Fanfest 2016 is love and passion for the game? Unlike Fanfest 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012…?

    Mike Azariah, spin doctor extraordinaire! 😛

    Personally I think that the EVE part of the Fanfest was a bit dim because CCP has been talking about it for months. Citadels, new structures, nothing of that is news any longer. Also isn’t news that many, many players will get nothing in their plate as CCP stays focused on structures. “Wreck their dreams” is the new black, n’est-ce pas?

    • mikeazariah says:

      Fair point. Thing is that it still was the biggest take away for this one. There was big things that distracted and were the bigger items in other fanfests, this one, not so much. Citadels are tomorrow and they had pretty well announced most of it at other venues and times. It was not the ‘reveal’ at Fanfest.

      Yeah, I can spin things when I want to but mostly I just calls em like I sees them through my rose coloured glasses.

      http://matt.baya.net/wp-content/uploads/2006/10/paintwhatisee.jpg
      others may do the same with whatver glasses they have on

      m

      • Catalina de Erauso says:

        That’s a fair point too. As my granma said, it’s easier to love life when your belly is full. 😉

  2. mararinn says:

    This was my third Fanfest, and the first time I’ve managed to step outside my shell far enough to connect with other people. I found a little group I was comfortable around, and also tried talking to other folks.

    I am looking forward to what Team Genesis can come up with in terms of new player retention.

    Sommuch exciting stuff! The lack of novelty of citadel announcements is a side effect of CCP being more communicative. I wonder if they’ll start doing Riot-esque social experimentation with ways of reducing community toxicity?

  3. Steve Haws says:

    Thanks Mike for reminding us that sometimes it’s just the beauty of space ships in EVE.

    SLy

  4. Pingback: BB74 – Bump and Grind | The Ancient Gaming Noob

Leave a comment