OOC: BB75 FPS hopes Project Nova

-o0o-
Welcome to the continuing monthly EVE Blog Banters and our 75th edition! For more details about what the blog banters are please visit the Blog Banter page.
What Does Project Nova Need to Be Successful?
At Fanfest CCP showcased their current iteration of the FPS set in the Eve Universe. Following on from DUST514 and Project Legion, Project Nova is shaping up to be a solid FPS with CCP taking the decision to get the game mechanics right first. However with so many FPS out there what will Nova need in order to stand out from a very large crowd and be successful? What are the opportunities and perhaps more importantly, the dangers for CCP? How can Nova compete against CoD, Battlefront and Titanfall to name a few?-o0o-
OK, I have played my fair share of First Person Shooters.  From COD to Battlefield 2042 and 1942 to Planetfall, Firefall, Hellgate London, all the way back to original Doom and Wolfenstein.  They are my release from stress after a hard day and I play them as a casual.  I seldom have a decent kdr and I take pride in the little things.  I actually enjoy the view and the visceral impact of the game rather than strut like I am the big Kahuna.  I am not.
But that is what this game is gonna need to be able to answer . . . can it adapt and accommodate both types of shooter players.  Those whom live to be the very best (Like no one ever was) and those who enjoy a nice afternoon of shooting but would rather not spend it walking into a meat grinder to feed someone’s stats.  Free to play means all the little script kiddies and twitch bunny hoppers will be all over the map.  We will have to worry about wall hax and aimbots and the rest of it.  Ban them and they make another free acct.
Okay, there are some basic points that this sort of game live and die on.  First up is maps.  They have to be vibrant, evocative of the mood being set, challenging for all classes to play in.  If I start feeling like I am just living in the same damn corridor over and over I will not stay with a game.
Guns (lots of guns) that have a feel to them.  I don’t mean they have to ‘feel real’.  This is science fiction but I want kick, tracking, a learning curve for using them properly.  I want to know that if I work at it I will be better than I was.  I don’t have haptic feedback but I want the weapons to make me wish I did.
Differences. Now when I was making notes for this the word differences actually was written twice.  Once for internal and once for external.  Internally each class or choice in loadout needs to feel important and different.  Not just half a step slower and carries a medpack.  I want to be able to, at a glance, know what class is being played on twitch and what playstyle is best for that class.  Externally the game is going to have to differentiate itself from a lot of other similar games on the market right now.  What will make Nova something more than a flash in the pan as shooter tourists come and then go to the next new shiny?
Stability.  Gods, this is important.  Gamers and reviewers are notorious for condeming and damning a game within a few days of launch on the basis of stability, bugs and other server side issues.  No code is bombproof but damn they better have it close.  Lag or downtimes in the first week can be the difference between having a following and being a cute niche game.
Community.  Damn Eve has one and has even won game awards for its community.  Good managers and the willingness to engage with the players has gone a LONG way to developing a vibrant group of players.  Dust had its own version of the CSM but will Nova?  Will people step forward to be the grains of sand that the pearls form around?  The biggest make or break moment will be early on when new people to the game ‘test the edges’.  There is good natured ribbing and then easily a group slides into graphic homophobic, misogynistic, hate fueled mire that is damn near impossible to fix.  Communities that go down that road seldom return and they become the Ouroboros, feeding on itself.  Sen it happen, hope it does not.  Free to play makes for a dangerous open door for people to come dump their toxic waste and scamper off.
I honestly hope that the game manages to balance all of the above.  The New Eden IP is strong and has a ton of Lore behind it.  If they can cross tie the games of Valkyrie, Nova and Eve even a little it will make each stronger.  A solid background and storyline helps.
Free to Play games live and die (as all business’s do) by the money hidden behind the ‘free’.  Monetization HAS to happen as I checked and CCP is not a charitable organization.  How and what they sell will be another telling point but I do not want to get into the whole golden ammo thing right now.  I just hope they feel the same way.
Others have written on this topic . . .
I tried to not read them before hitting send on mine,
sometimes if I do read then I wind up with a post of ‘Yeah, what he said!’
fly it like you won it
m
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OOC: BB75 FPS hopes Project Nova

  1. Pingback: BB75 – Shooting in Stations | The Ancient Gaming Noob

  2. kn says:

    I think you hit the two key points. First one is absolutely to recognise the existing market competition, to avoid pointless game design mistakes that have been solved in other comparable games, and to understand the USP of this game. Taking advantage of EVE’s existing universe, lore-wise and gameplay integration, is a big attraction, but won’t be enough to carry the game in its own right; it obviously all depends on the core gameplay and social features. The other is about stability and QA, more so exploits and cheats rather than “plain bugs”.

    I say this after putting a fair amount of time into The Division since launch (3PS rather than FPS, but still). There is a good game in there somewhere, but it’s been badly damaged by exactly those two problems: what looks like deliberate disregard for existing game design solutions in other successful games (e.g., D3’s loot system, EVE (etc) for non-consensual open-world PvP, etc), and horribly broken exploits that took a long time to fix or even officially acknowledge.

    • mikeazariah says:

      I have run through the Division though I only wander into the dark zone when I feel like being shot and dying quickly. That does bring up one thing that I didn’t mention. The loot fairy and item inflation. But that would be a whole article in and of itself.

      m

Leave a Reply

