Three

Tanta nodded to the side table and said “The old rule is dat it only takes three legs to hold up a table, the fourth is just for show or a spare.”

Free looked across at the table then to Tanta and the Tech who sat opposite her. “I am thinking that this is not a discussion of furniture technology.”

Tanta shrugged and continued, “Emé says that he fits ships with three legs as well. Tank, Guns, and Go. He says that battles are about Planning, Execution, and Diplomacy although not always in that order. Seems ta me dat dere be a lot of three out there, like tables, holding up their own.”

Free nodded. “I take it you no longer consider yourself part of the three?”

“Oh, I am for now but . . . y’all needs to start making plans for when.”

“Mike is . . . “

“I ‘spect he is about to be very busy. Politics will draw the boy back in like a picnic draws bugs. Oh he is good as a spare leg and I is sure you knows that but you do need another, one more . . . steady. I am not gonna burden you wif my opinions on dat, tis for you to find the other one. But I tink dat you best start thinkin on it and lookin around.”

Free knew that a suggestion from Tanta amounted to orders from anyone else. She looked to the tech who shook his head, he had no idea of a third, either. She looked back to Tanta and nodded.

Lessons

If you do not think that Diplomacy is a part of warfare then I do not know WHO you are

The idea of a triumvirate in control of peoples destinies goes WAY back. Maybe look up Moirai while you think on that one. Or that scottish play whose name escapes me.

Politics is just around the corner, methinks (by the pricking of my thumbs . . . )

Been a while since I wrote, anyone still reading this?

fly it like you won it

m

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three

  1. evehermit says:

    I still read when I have a spare minute, although I don’t often have those.

  2. bgrvtr says:

    And the CSM election picnic begins…

Leave a comment