BB24 Who are you, who hoo woo hoo

Welcome to the twenty-fourth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week or so to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check for other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

This month’s Banter topic comes to us from the ever helpful Eelis Kiy, capsuleer behind the “Where the frack is my ship” blog. She asks: How does your real life personality compare to who you are as a character in EVE? Does a good leader of people in the real world make a good leader of pilots in game? Or vice-versa? Do your real-life skills help you with the roles you fulfill in your corporation or alliance? Or do you behave completely differently? Does the anonymity of the Internet allow you to thrive on the tears of others in New Eden whilst you work as a good Samaritan away from your keyboard? Or are you as mean outside of your pod as you are inside it? Have experiences in EVE Online affected your behavior, skills or attitudes outside of the game?

All OOC (Out of character)

I have a few alts and I try to make each one very distinctive. Now I could argue that they are all aspects of my personality or I could just blame it on RP and leave it at that. But the best rp comes from the ability to put yourself in the characters shoes . . . so I still come through and I am the one mind behind the various people. Do my real life skills become a part of my character?

I am a teacher. Most would describe my style as being a story teller with math or science tied into the stories. I am a social animal and get along with most folks. My main does the same thing and this blog is my outlet for the stories I generate and dream up. If I have the time I discuss and volunteer information. I don’t want to run things but I like to be a part of a lot of different activities.

Would a real world leader do well in Eve? Depends on their style of leadership. A Boss in the real world can fire your ass if you goof off . . . and folks fear that. In the game it is ‘screw you, I cleaned out the hanger yesterday, so long sucker’. The fear and real consequences are not all there.

Do our personalities shine through? Yes and, as a matter of fact, we are at a more even playing ground in that you do not judge someone on their looks or clothing. It may be a guy with a weird accent but you don’t know if he is a fortune 500 business exec, or a 15 yr old with a deep voice. I have chatted with folks on line who say they are armed forces, government security, pilots, programmers, students, parents and even (though I have trouble believing it) girls. Doesn’t matter. What you are is personalities, voices and words, thoughts in the aether. To a certain extent . . . I think this is better because it cuts a lot of the chance of pre-existing bias or prejudice.

Some people may act differently when they are playing . . . I had a friend tell me he finds I am easy going till I play cards, then I go for the throat. My competitive nature is well hidden, most of the time. I suppose some other folks are also of that ilk and when they get into pvp they will crow and smack even if they are easy going the rest of the time. We all have our ‘edges’. I do not assume a griefing pirate tips over baby carriages in the park when he waddles out of his parents dingy basement. I think there is a player who is enjoying letting the wild side run a bit free. I don’t think that the guy who trades and makes billions in a single day of scamming is also a Wall Street sharpie one step ahead of the SEC. I think there is someone who likes to try for the market pvp.

There was a great article a few months ago about whether gaming skills were translatable back into the real world. No, not This Ask yourself . . . would YOU put ‘leader of a corp in Eve’ on a resume? Well, maybe you would if applying for a job in the gaming industry or with a very computer/gaming savvy employer (looking at you, google). But for a job in a lawyers office? No. Would I mention gaming while applying for a teaching position? No.

Look, it is a nice enough blog topic but if you step back and ask, in Monopoly, did I not want to be the ‘shoe’ because I had no soul? In Checkers did saying ‘King Me’ have any lasting effect on my dynasty? I got yelled at for being a war monger by a very left wing young lady because I played a card game called Nuclear War. Was she right or just a granola eating eating loonie in a tie dyed dress? Games is games . . . I play and when I am in a social game I let some of me shine through because that is how I play. I do not make that assumption for other people, until I meet them. Face to face.

m

Other opinions . . .

1. EVE Blog Banter #24: Be, all that you can be, and so much more!
2. BB24:RL + EVE = | A Mule In EvE
3. Freebooted: BB 24: You Talking to Me?
4. where the frack is my ship?: Blog Banter 24: Behind the keyboard
5. (OOC) CK’s Blog Banter #24: I Am Prano. « Prano’s Journey
7. Drifting: The 24th EVE Blog Banter (January 2011 Edition) – Topic: EVE and Real Life
8. Victoria Aut Mors » Blog Archive » Eve Blog Banter #24 – Where Eve Meets Real Life
9. Who is more real?? « The Durzo Chronicles
10. Captain Serenity: blog banter #24 – Personalities
11. Confessions of a Closet Carebear: EVE and Real Life (EVE Blog Banter #24)
12. More to come….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to BB24 Who are you, who hoo woo hoo

  1. Pingback: The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Alt « the hydrostatic capsule

  2. Pingback: Who is more real?? « The Durzo Chronicles

  3. Pingback: Blog Banter 24: In Real Life « Yarrbear Tales

  4. Pingback: » EvE Blog Banter #24: EVE and Real Life EvE Blasphemy

  5. Pingback: Blastrad tales » Blog Archive » Personality?

  6. Pingback: Aggressive Logistics » Blog Archive » BB24 – Do unto others…

  7. +1 for naming your banter the same as I did. 😉

  8. Pingback: Blog Banter 24: The other side of the screen | A Scientist's Life in Eve

  9. Pingback: Blog Banter 24: I yam what I yam |

  10. Pingback: Blog Banter: Personalities in game and out of game

  11. Pingback: Blog Banter #24 – I am not who I am in Eve « WANDERLUST

  12. Pingback: EVE Blog Banter #24: To Play or To Live… « The Lathspell of Mithrandir

  13. Pingback: Blog Banter 24 is Live | The EVE Report

  14. Seismic Stan says:

    I like to think with you, more than most player-bloggers, I have a sense of the real personality through your writing, both on this blog and in chat channels. If every character (I only know of Mike Azariah and Jiorj) is an extension of your own personality, then I think laid-back and good-humoured comes across. Also you write with a quiet authority and wisdom that shows your age.

    I should probably stop with the new-age pop-psychology now, shouldn’t I.

  15. Pingback: The R In RPG | Morphisat's Blog

  16. Pingback: OOC Looking back | A Missioneer in Eve

Leave a Reply

