Little Jobs

“See, the thing is,”  Mike continued.  “I am not sure who we are working for and why they are paying in such an odd way.  Boosters instead of cash?  It just feels sketchy.”

Scotty shrugged.  “Things have been tested 7 ways from Sunday.  They do what they say the will do and don’t seem to have any side-effects.”

“None chemical.”  Mike muttered,  “But they are getting capsuleers used to coming in and ‘doing things’ according to someone else’s agenda.  It just rubs me the wrong way.  Hell I seem to be making progress just because I poked my head into some sites as I often do and popped a few Sansha.  Suddenly, I have a booster to claim.  Feels almost Pavlovian and  . . . ”  Mike harrumphed and sipped his coffee.  “Learning to act on reflex and depend on muscle memory is all well and good until you slip and . . . oh leave the ring of battle in a blaze of glory.”

“That final was amazing.  No question about it.”  Scotty had a huge grin on his face and so did Mike.  “I figure you were going nuts with all the Drakes there, though why a good Gallente soul like yourself would care?”

“Because I spent years in that hull and it did me well day in and day out.  Because it has such a bad rap these days that people have made it into a joke and I love that brick.  It always (almost) got the job done for me.  And sometimes, at the end of the day, getting a job done and done well is what makes a win.”

“Well, they sure as hell won, today.  Wouldn’t mind getting one of those ships.”

“You and me both.  Way I see it . . . ”  Mike paused as his comm chimed oddly, he stared at it for a moment before opening the message.

“Problems?”  Scotty asked.

“No, just someone else askin me to do a little job for them.”

Scotty frowned.  He knew that specific message tone and it had not made that sound in a few years.  But why would they be calling him now?  He quietly watched Mikes face for a clue and saw a slow smile grow, the smile Mike usually got just before he went off to do something that might earn him another medal from Kry.  Mike paid the tab and headed out quickly making his excuses almost out of reflex.

Scotty waited till he was well clear before he started to laugh.  Asking Mike to do a small job was like thinking the lighting a fuse meant that there would be a small fire.  What he did not know was Mike was also laughing as he headed off to his office to start making notes and calls.  Laughing for the exact same reason.

**************************************************************************

Lessons.

You running any of the Lucky Strikes?  I ran a few but almost as an afterthought.  I am still not sure what I think of dailies.

If you missed the finals of the Alliance tournament, go watch the last bout.  It was an awesome and brutal match swinging both ways so fast  . . . just holy crap.  I was on the edge of my seat.

If you are curious what medals Kry has given me?  Look me up while in game.

If you are curious about the last bit?  Good.  Hopefully something will come of that too.  But I do have a big grin on my face.

fly it like you won it.

m

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Little Jobs

  1. Jerod_Trd says:

    Wait, Hold up…

    Kry as in Mechanoid Kryten?

  2. Easy Esky says:

    Agency stuff is broken. I clock the 1,000,000 bounty and gets stuck there. When it should start the pirate hull count. I log out and back in. 1mil is green – but it is still not counting kills in a BC. (bug report filed). Guess its back to the exploring, industry and missions for me.

Leave a Reply

