BB #73 This is the Droid

“So soon(tm) we will have Eve Online, Valkyrie, Gunjack and the as yet untitled FPS to replace DUST514/Project Legion. Are we missing anything else? Are then any other games CCP should be looking into? Colony building simulators in the style of Sim City or Rimworld. Should it be on a grander scale link Civilisation or Stronghold Kingdoms. How about RTS games ala Command and Conquer. Survival games such as Rust? Planet based combat like World of Tanks? Would you like to see other game types expanding the Eve Universe or should CCP stick to what it knows?

It has been a while since I did a Blog Banter but this one sang to me.  A side from Eve and a few other casual MMO’s like ESO and The Division most of my gaming is done on Android devices.  This is the hole I would like to see filled by CCP and far more connected than they already have.

Valkyrie, Gunjack, the ‘shooter’, all of these use the IP but the connection to Eve is only that of naming and owners.  Dammit I want to see play that benefits me across platforms.  What I do in A has an effect on B.  If I defend a mining platform in Gunjack I should see a bonus of some sort in eve mining or reprocessing.  If I fly well in Valkyrie I would like to to show on fighter or drone control in Eve.  Better would be if I could have freinds that also benefit me.  I make a clan/corp/guild in one game and the benefits funnel to the connected corp in another.

Spread, connectivity, consequences that span gaming systems.  I play on a bus and it pays off when I get back to my desktop.  I convince my wife that the android game is fun and step 5) profit.  Connectivity is not a new idea for me.  I wanted snapshots taken of huge battles and then used as backdrops in Valkyrie so you could say ‘see that there?  That was me.  That ship over there tanking it strong?  PGL’  Fly through the history of Eve in other games.  For DUST 514 battlegrounds I thought it would be cool to have the sites not repetitive but laid out according to actual PI setups on that planet.  Yeah, I dream a lot.  But this would mean the battles would be different and no memorization of the camping spots.

Till then?  Clash Royale and the like . . . but man I want me some Eve on my phone and tablet.

fly it like you won it

m

Oh and others who have had something to say one this include

http://nevillesmit.com/blog/2016/3/26/bb-73-more-eve-inspired-games-please

http://www.luobotekong.com/2016/03/blog-banter-73-other-eve-game.html

http://sandciderandspaceships.blogspot.com/2016/03/blog-banter-73-other-eve-game.html

There may be more that I missed but that is a start

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to BB #73 This is the Droid

  1. Nzz says:

    Faster horses won’t save CCP. They look like ford who once said “car can be any color if it’s black” and lost market share to GM forever.

    Here is the song to accentuate that one hit wonders exist and it’s ok

    • mikeazariah says:

      You mean that wasn’t Bowie?

      Love the Ford quote. Pity they didn’t have any staying power as a company and died out soon after GM came on the scene.

      Market Share is fine. This was not about changing Eve but what other avenues it could explore as a gaming company.

      m

      • Nzz says:

        Sarcasm works sometimes

        The reason ford was saved is because he went mad and was demoted otherwise he would run the company to the ground

        You did not understand my analogy

        for CCP’s CEO the game can be about anything if it is about eve. They think only eve exists and make all games connect to eve. Nobody outside Eve’s current base cares about eve universe and connections to it.
        Other companies explore other universes and worlds, CCP things the world revolves around EVE. Until they change that they will be a one hit wonder. They must cut the huge metal ball tied to their leg. Otherwise they will remain The company of one song and eventually die.

Leave a Reply

