What the CSM isn’t

The CSM roundtable at Eve Vegas was . . . interesting.  If you have an hour of your life that needs filling and you can see for yourself.  Sound quality is not my fault.

I want to hit a few points about the CSM because the debate has been kind of loud, of late.  CSMX has had some turnover.  One resignation, one removal for inactivity and one removal by CCP.  There have been rumours of leaks, of insider trading, of us being in the pockets of CCP, Goons, or both.  I know that several of us get very angry letters or attacks on our purpose or usefulness.  For me, most of the times, the attacks are in the forums or on reddit.  They may be elsewhere but I have a limited time to spend looking for people out to get me.  (And I use that time in game, as I should)

  1.  The NDA.  Sorry, I cannot say anything about that . . . kidding.  If CSM is to be able to advise CCP on what are good ideas and bad ideas then we should see things before the main gaming population does.  While they do not have to listen to us they can at least get a hint of what is going to happen.  Both scenarios have happened in the past.  CSM has a small closet of ‘I told you so’s’ that we call out from time to time.  If there was not an NDA then we would be . . . well a focus group just like the other two that are currently formed but without any of their focus.
  2. Politics and Drama.  I was not joking when I said in the Roundtable . . . ‘stop electing politicians’  Mr. Karrde swiftly pointed out that I am a poor one to make that comment since I have been in 7 elections and served 3 terms.  Put 14 motivated people on a council and some will rub others the wrong way.  It is inevitable.  Sometimes we can get hung up on a single word and argue about it for hours, seriously.  But the greatest crime, imho, is being elected and then doing nothing at all.  The one thing I seldom see in the council is politics based on who serves whom.  We may tease now and again (I always reserve the right to say Grr Goons) but when push comes to shove the job at hand is what we focus on, not what imaginary internet tribes we belong to.  Oh there are exceptions, there always are.  But overall?  We are probably a lot less political than you might expect.
  3. It is just a Popularity Contest.  Yes, hello, welcome to ‘How Democracy Works’.  To be elected and get on the council you need to get people to vote for you.  This could be considered a popularity contest.  You lot elected us, live with it.  (My favourites are the people who complain about who got on the council and yet proudly say that they did not bother voting).
  4. Nobody listens.  Oh I hear a lot of forms of this (irony intended).  CCP does not listen to players, to CSM, to their gypsy corporate guidance counselor.  CSM does not listen to players or if they do it is to the wrong players.  Players are mushrooms, kept in the dark and fed bullshit.  We never let the players have a voice or when we do it all goes horribly wrong.  (see sov townhall).  Thing is?  We do.  Can I prove it?  Yup, I point at Sugar, at Steve, at Corbexx, at the other people who engage players and take active part in discussions.  Hell, in the Roundtable, above, only ONE of us was silent.  The rest engaged.
  5. It is a publicity stunt.  If that were true then we should have shut down a long time ago.  Do the math on how much it costs to fly 7-10 of us from around the world to Iceland and put us up in the upper end hotels.  Do you honestly think they are gettin much bang for their advertising buck at this point?  CCP sees a value in us.
  6. well?  come on, gimme 6, 7, 8, whatever.

Bottom line?  I am still on the CSM for about 5 more months.  I will continue to do what I do and hope for the best.  I will get my supporters and my detractors and I will still have my book of notes.  Come the new year there will be another summit and I have no idea if I will be invited, can go, or will telecommute.  But I have YET to see an argument against the CSM that is not steeped in its own bitterness or just plain wrong.

But then I am an anarchistic optimist.

screw the rules, hope for the best

fly it like you won it

m

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What the CSM isn’t

  1. Dorian Reu says:

    I am an optimist. It does not seem too much use being anything else. ~ Winston Churchill

    Keep up the good work, and keep up the anarchistic optimism… It confuses everyone.

  2. Jester says:

    You forgot “CSM should do a good job of continuously communicating their value to the players.” I think I read that one in a manual somewhere. 😉 ❤

    • mikeazariah says:

      If you have to stand on a soapbox to show you are worthy of standing on a soapbox . . . something has been lost. That being said, I think the quote should become CSM should do a good job of continuously showing their value to the players.

      m

  3. Dinsdale Pirannha says:

    The player base has spoken. The vast vast majority of the base has quit voting. They know that the CSM is indeed useless, given the cartels’ control of it (goons have, what, 5 official and unofficial people on this CSM, and those are the ones known about).

    As for you, after something like a 3 week hiatus from posting, I was hoping for an analysis of the proposed PvE changes and their impact on your supposed constituency, that being high sec players, particularly casual players.

    Instead, you give us a defense piece on why you are still relevant. How about show that relevancy by doing some work for your high sec group, and leading us through all the changes and proposed changes.

  4. Brad says:

    CCP has a gypsy corporate guidance counselor? NOICE!

Leave a Reply

