A bit of math

Ooc stuff.

The candidate list is up for the CSM election. If you look closely you will see that I am on it.  But so are a lot of other people.  Now that is fine.  I like and want diversity in the council but is it too much to ask for a modicum of effort?

One candidate has managed the trifecta of never having posted on the forums, having no campaign statement, no digital trace other than the fact that he/she managed to get an application in on time.

Of the 77 candidates less than 2/3 managed to start a campaign thread. They expect to represent you but they won’t tell you how or why. Not that I don’t appreciate this.  You see, I am planning on doing a post or two on who to vote for.  If they cannot be bothered to give basic information then I think I am OK  in ignoring them in my blog.  You may feel differently about that but I am limited on time and how much work I want to do for people who have not even made a minimal effort.

Cap stable guys worked hard to do interviews and then all these other people turn up. Why?  Was it a last minute decision or a tactical choice to fly under the radar? What advantage is there in not talking to the people you want voting for you? The only folks this does make sense for are the ‘sure thing’ candidates like Sion,  Endie, or Manfred. The ones with a large enough bloc behind them that external votes and voters don’t really matter. But they did put up threads and platforms.

You can decide if these other folks are worth your time. I have made my decision.

Good sites? https://sites.google.com/site/csmwire/

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/toY6WIOIvtdlx5BrgSy4mdg/htmlview?pli=1#gihd=901990959

Not to mention the forum threads, cap stables work and a whole bunch of other bloggers and such

All this work being done.  You have a right to expect the same in return from the candidates.

m

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A bit of math

  1. Dorian Reu says:

    If only there were a site that broke them down by their platforms to allow us to whittle this list down a bit. I’ve listened to every Cap Stable interview but never took notes, and very few stick out in my mind

    • mikeazariah says:

      I sympathize having the same issue. I started taking notes and there is the recap episodes thar a panel did in cap stable for some of the early ones.

      m

    • Noizy says:

      I have a suggestion on how to use the posts on CSM Wire that may help you whittle down your choices. I’ve copied both the candidate’s statements that will appear on the ballot page along with their campaign post from the EVE-O forums. You can go down the list of candidates pretty quickly, read the ballot statement, and use that to narrow down the field.

      I hope that helps

  2. Catalina de Erauso says:

    Maybe the requirements were too easy, and I don’t see how having so many candidates is good. Voting should be made easier, not more difficult with the need to tell trolls from actual candidates.

    77 names just invite to pick any random 14 unless the voter is more interested with the CSM than with actually playing EVE… (My own maths say that reviewing 77 candidates at an average of 5 minutes per candidate, will take more than six hours…)

    • mikeazariah says:

      I will include a link to vote – match once it is live but I will bet you that 40 candidates or less actually fill it out. The rest will continue their pattern. Take that as a sign of what you can expect if they were elected. (Yes, I filled mine out)

      m

  3. Noizy says:

    Thanks for the shout out for CSM Wire!

    I’ve been linking the 30 second adds that Bellak Hark has been producing that gives people some idea of what a candidate thinks on each candidate’s page. I don’t think he’ll get through them all, but it’s better than nothing.

    Also, it looks like there will be two more Cap Stable panel shows released before the election.

  4. Easy Esky says:

    I know who I will be voting for. Names I do not recognise will.be ignored. I would assume the same of most voters. People that vote would have a vested interest.

    Does the Serenity server have representation with the CSM? After all of the direction taken for Tranqility affects them. That aside I can imagine aside from troll candidates there may well some for whom English is not a consideration. Perhaps CCP Leeloo can identify candidates that have posted elsewhere. Of Occum’s Razor says troll, but I not ready to shave just yet.

Leave a Reply

