Running for CSMX

“You ever wonder if you are running out of habit?”  Scotty asked as the coffee was delivered to the table.

“I have been running in the elections since CSM4, iffen I recall correctly.  Yeah, I actually DID worry about that.  So I spoke with a few capsuleers I trusted to steer me right.  Asked if they thought I should run or step aside for someone else.”  Mike chuckled.  “They were pretty well unanimous and that is what pushed me over the edge.  That and I still don’t think the job is done.”

“Yeah but boss, you know the job ain’t never really going to be ‘done’.  There is always something else that needs fixing.”  Scotty added the sugar as though measuring reagents for a lab experiment.

Mike dumped in the sugar and splashed it with cream like he was doing avantgarde art.  “Granted, but there is a big job right on the horizon.”

“You mean Sov and all the territorial rules?  That don’t affect us, here.”

Mike frowned.  “See?  That is why we need . . . look, New Eden is all interconnected.  Changes in one place always make a splash locally but the ripples extend to the edge of the pond.  Take the changes to automatization rules.”

Scotty grinned.  “You mean the Iz Box! guy, the other day?”

“It ain’t one box or one company it is the whole concept of automatization.  But I don’t want to argue about it I want to use it as an example.  The changes caused market shifts in ores and in pilots licensing. Or a good movie comes out and suddenly the new training schools are running at max capacity.  Point is, if we try to see New Eden as a bunch of separate parts that are barely connected then we are doing it wrong.  So to dismiss something as ‘happening in some other part of space’ is myopic.”

“So you are saying everyone should worry about Sov?”  Scotty sipped his coffee and grimaced.

Mike watched him measure out a shade more cream and nodded.  “Well, maybe not worry about but every change changes everything, a little.  That is why I have trouble understanding some folks insular attitudes.  It is ALSO why I appreciate people who are positive every change is a direct attack on their own space.”

“You mean like Dinsdale?”

“He is a vocal one but he is not the only one.  Thing is?  He, and others, get the interconnectivity.  I may not agree with all of his conclusions or premises but he sees a bigger picture than some pilots.”  Mike sipped his own coffee and shrugged.  “All things being equal I do see the universe through hisec eyes. but I try to see as far as I can from where I stand.”

*************************************************************

Lessons

Yeah I am running again, announced it on twitter and in the forums but I thought I ought to put something down here, as well.  When the election gets closer there are good odds I will do some campaign opinion here and I always welcome questions.  But this was my way of announcing.

Dinsdale, I know you probably understand, this was not an attack but a compliment.

I am STUNNED by the support for Operation Magic School Bus and so are a few pilots who have been handed ships in the past few days.  I am trying to perfect a route for the visits.  I am fairly sure if there is an optimized one I am NOT one it.  Smart play would be to place clones in each area but I seldom do the smart thing.

time to give away a ship . . . a BC I think.  comments over the posts (this one and any that follow) through the next week will be in the draw.

fly it like you won it

m

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Running for CSMX

  1. Helena Khan says:

    Good on you Mike. You guys are making a difference for the whole of the game too. You mentioned connectivity and not to put too fine a point on it CCP and CSM – the sum is greater as the saying goes.

    Not that my opinion would mean squat to him either, but I have to give Dinsdale props for moving away from his initially (very) antagonistic way of making a point.

    • Noizy says:

      I’ve read some posts of Dinsdale’s where I’m convinced he threw in a “Grr Goons” statement at the end just because it was expected of him. He can make good, coherent points I agree with. If I didn’t agree with Dinsdale on some of what he’s written about the future of high sec, I wouldn’t have moved out to low.

  2. Jester says:

    What would you estimate the time commitment has been for CSM9? Has it been the same, less, or more than 8?

  3. drew10th says:

    Dear Mike,
    I listen to you on Podside and High Drag quite often as I have early morning commutes most days of the month. As the only CSM I ever hear in podcast I forgive your care-bear transgressions against humanity. However I would greatly appreciate it if you make it easier to find information that you discuss on the different podcast on your site. In a perfect world If I hear you talk about sending postcards to CCP or helping run some rookie fleets then as soon as I come to your site I would see links to that information at the top of your page.

    Thank you for all of your hard work
    Andrew AKA (Kerbouchard Goodspeed)

    • drew10th says:

      EDIT: Ok so the information I was looking for was not that far down your post list….however. Your Blog looks like it is from 1998 and I expect more more the premier CSM. goodjob and all….quietly slinks back into the crowd.

      • mikeazariah says:

        this blog is the only thing sequential in my life (I am very chaotic in thought processes)

        m

    • mikeazariah says:

      actually I will have a new address to add in the next post, dammit I forgot to do it in the last one.

      m

  4. MoxNix says:

    Dinsdale does have a number of good points, the problem is the way he presents them. He often comes across as a raving, foaming at the mouth, lunatic.

    • Dinsdale Pirannha says:

      Lunatic..no.
      Completely pissed off with the dev’s and management team that bought into the concept of “sov null sec is the only thing that matters”…yes

      But it sure looks like the investors have dropped the hammer on CCP management, and CCP is now starting to be more fair in its decision-making. I think they realized hammering high sec into destitution was not such a great idea after all because, as predicted, many did not move to low and null post-Crius, but quit.

      If they would just get rid of a certain community manager, that would go a long way as a show of faith with me.

      • mikeazariah says:

        I hope you are not asking me to do anything with Human Resources. Not the task of a CSM.

        Even if you cannot post on the forums you are welcome here, Dins.

        m

  5. Jon Illat says:

    Is it gearing up to that time again?

    I love what you’ve been doing with the new players, and I look forward to seeing a write-up about one (or more) of the fleets. You’re certainly near the top of my voting list come election time 🙂

  6. Well you and Sugar both are the number 1 and 2 on my shortlist.
    I feel you are both candidates representing EVE as a whole instead of just looking to represent their own playstyle and nerfing others.

  7. mikeazariah says:

    Thank you and I agree Sugar is an excellent person to have on ANY ballot.

    m

Leave a Reply

