Burnt

[Daredevil, Serpentis Burner]

2x Light Neutron Blaster II – Void S

1x 1MN Afterburner II
2x ‘Langour’ Drive Disruptor I

2x Magnetic Field Stabilizer II
1x Prototype Armor Thermic Hardner
1x Small Ancillary Armor Repairer – Nanite Repair Paste

2x Small Anti-Kinetic Pump II
1x Small Auxiliary Nano Pump II

Nanite Repair Paste
Void S

– Overheat everything
-Approach and web immediately
-Profit –

Thanks to Commander Maxter for the initial fit/theory crafting. – Lex Lynn

“So I thought I would start light, nothing too fancy or expensive.”  Mike pointed to the fit.  “Nice little boat to try my hand with and I even took it out to a few Serpentis sites to get a feel for it.  Sweeeeet ride.  Fast and agile and once it gets close enough it can lay down some decent pain.  Oh it took a few hits and being the frugal type if it is not an emergency I unload the AAR and let it run the slow reps.”

He wiped his eyes.  “Yeah, I unload the AAR . . . and forget to reload it.  I assume you know where this is going.  Oh, another thing.  When running simple sites I tend to set autorepeat off on my reppers so I have finer control over them.”

“You know,” he said, looking to the sky, “there are signs that the Universe sends to you, that you are not ready, that you should learn to pay attention to.  I got all the way to the relevant system then I realized that I had forgotten to accept the mission.  THAT, right there was the sign that I should have noticed.  I was a bit groggy and not in the proper frame of mind for it but I thought I could ‘handle it’.”

Mike held up a finger as though making a proclamation.  “If the phrase ‘I can handle it’ is used . . . you cannot, go back to bed.”  He then laughed.  “The nice thing about it was that it was over quickly . . . VERY quickly.  I got lock and he skittered back out to 13 km and opened fire.  BOOM shields gone. BOOM down to 2/3 armor.  I hit the repper and see it unloaded and whisper damn. BOOM armor flakes off Boom 2/3 hull.  BOOOOOM what a pretty view from inside this pod, oh look I have mail reminding me that I did not insure my little ship.  Walk of shame home.”

He started to laugh.  “Well maybe not of shame.  I had a fool grin on my face because win or lose, that was fun!  It was not a normal mission but that is what the agent said.  So I lost a ship.  Back to the drawing board and I will try again.”

**************************************************************************

Lessons

1)  be prepared and make sure you damn ship is, as well

2)  if you have a fit that you would like to see tried out, lemme know

3)  In honour of this death I am giving out a daredevil to one of the commenters over the next two weeks, you comment, you are entered.

fly it like you won it

m

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Burnt

  1. Vivi says:

    Considering you are on the CSM, and part of the podcasting community, while also being a regular reader of the forums, my only response is ROTFL.
    Keep us posted.
    o/

    • mikeazariah says:

      Are you laughing because I am so bad at Eve? I have never pretended otherwise.

      m

      • Vivi says:

        I laughed because the way you described your experience sounded like you forget what, “this NPC is an extremely powerful frigate with stats based on those of a player flying a pirate frigate with officer/deadspace gear, pirate implants, and command links,”
        means.

        PS Also note that NPC’s now have ‘off-grid boosting’… O_o
        o/

  2. Marq Aideron says:

    Glad to hear you are having some fun on these burners. I am currently trying to sec up a bit so I can give these a shot myself. My mission runner isn’t quite as skilled at frigate warfare as Marq is so I really want Marq in the mission site, lol. You really should up your web a bit though, don’t go all fed navy on him but at least throw a fleeting propulsion inhibitor on it :P. I am really debating on what frigate to use but the DD does feel like a perfectly capable vessel but I only pilot those while drinking, lol.

    Good luck on your next attempt!

    • mikeazariah says:

      actually, I did upgrade to fleetings. Forgot to mention that. It was the only change I made to that fit. Still unloaded is unloaded.

      m

  3. bobfenner says:

    I may actually have to log in and try and get one of these. Could well be a blast….

  4. Have to wait until I get home from Afghanistan to check these out.

  5. Thanks for the heads-up about the CCP tweets. I wish that data was more easily accessible as I would love to know how the burner mission loss trends play out!

  6. I love the Daredevil, give it to me!!!!!!

  7. Helena Khan says:

    Mike – I know you want to keep the costs down but a high end AB might might just give you enough speed to get into web range. Also, there are some webs (CN, DG are the less expensive versions) that work at 12 to 13km without overheating. They have less native web strength but again it’s about the application and giving you the chance to apply your DPS while mitigating theirs.

  8. Braver says:

    Grinding standing for lvl4 missions at the moment so I can test them 🙂 Any advice for a good Gallente Mission hub?

  9. Tim Davis says:

    I’ll try flying a daredevil if I win it!

  10. Dinsdale Pirannha says:

    Singularity is your friend. Toying with fits there is a whole lot less painful, and you are guaranteed as many burner missions as you want.

    • Vivi says:

      Some people see this as “cheating” but I say “jam those people first and kill them last.”

      On a serious note, this is one of those situations where the test server can be very helpful.

    • mikeazariah says:

      It is, Dins, but seldom for me. With limited time to play I only play for keeps . . .which means TQ, I do some reading, look at the theory crafters and I will probably lose a lot of ships over the next little while.

      And have fun doing so because I KNOW that if I succeed I will feel so damn good about it.

      worth it

      m

  11. Jon Illat says:

    Sounds like they are quite the deadly mission.

    I would try them out, but I haven’t run missions in quite a few months, ever since nearly losing my Machariel in Worlds Collide to webbing frigates. Losing frigates seems a lot nicer on the wallet, but the running of normal lv4 missions to get these burner missions puts me off trying them out. I understand why they have done it, but it is frustrating.

  12. Akori Mitsumoto says:

    My experience with the Blood Burner was very similar… Lost two Wolves, a Jaguar and an Ishkur before I finally got it down.

    Started by theorycrafting what a pimp cruor could do – then got in there with my kitey Jaguar to find that it can hit with neut and conflag out to at least twice as far as I had estimated. Oops. 🙂

  13. Bluey says:

    Didn’t get to test-fly Burners on Sisi. Read up on them, and today ran two Serpentis burners with a couple of corpmates in dual-web rail Enyos. Only a bit of overheat required–we smashed them.

    So with two Serps vaporized easily, my third burner of the day turned up, this time an Angel. One of our Enyo pilots had signed out. The two of us left decided the Enyo wasn’t the ship to run against the Dram–this one called for blaster Daredevils. Ahh, confidence… that feeling you have before you truly understand the situation…

    So we sat there in our pods wondering how we’d managed to stuff that up. Admittedly I had mucked up my overheating… my corpmate remains nonplussed. Four ‘Devil webs just wasn’t enough and we didn’t bust its tank.

    Painters… maybe painters… No?? Time to train Amarr/Cal AF perhaps… or don’t go in understaffed…

  14. Lightstar says:

    Hmm, Been in absentia, but looks like I’m missing some giggles.

    Might have to play with some frigate builds

Leave a Reply

