OOC: Fanfest vignettes

“You’re Diana?  Diana Dial?  I am  . . . . ”

“MIKE!” she yelled and game me a great big hug.  “I recognize the voice!”

*********

“Okay guys, when he proposes to her at the waterfall I want everybody to start shooting.”

(That one may lose something when taken out of context)

********************

“Where is your tinfoil hat I made?”

“Falcon saw it and stole it because it fit him better”  Mimic explained.

***************************

“Yes, dad” Sindel said, resting her head on my shoulder for a moment.

********************************

“You do not look how I expected . . . ”  – damn near everyone who watched the Eve TV stream.  But NOBODY will tell me how I differed from their mental image.

***************************************

A flicker of light, was it just a blip in the projection?  My face was still in the same place.  When would they show the new counci . . . “Holy crap.”  Take a hit from the flask.  Holy Crap.

fly it like you won it, seems like I won something as well

m

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to OOC: Fanfest vignettes

  1. So your in the same alphabetical position as the last time?

  2. Helena Khan says:

    I worked at a major telephony company for a decade or so. Almost no one looks like they sound. There is the odd exception of course. Not that you can really measure that though I’d hazard. You give up after a while trying to guess – usually after making an idiot of yourself once or twice 🙂

  3. Helena Khan says:

    Oh and hey, congrats! Well deserved 🙂

    • mikeazariah says:

      Thanks HK, you ever going to run again? You wouldn’t know the new council from how things used to be done.

      m

      • Helena Khan says:

        I never did. You must have me confused with some other highly opinionated eve player 🙂

        Been watching proceedings for some time now and have a couple of thoughts:

        1/. CSM 8 was a high mark to date imho. You guys and girls have some big shoes to fill. No pressure or anything.

        2/. Glad to see some good continuity though.

        3/. The next 9 – 18 months are going to be utterly critical from the games perspective, and player perception is going to be massively important. We’re relying on the CSM to both steer CCP away from any PR disasters, and to also make sure communication with the player base is open, frank and timely. See point one about no pressure 😛

        I suspect most players understand the upcoming changes are necessary to enable the game to grow and evolve. Esp if we’re going to have places on (or off) the map that say here be dragons.

        CSM9 is crucial for all of those reasons mentioned above. There is no room for partisanship or even the perception of it, as it could do lasting damage to the player base at a critical time as well as to the public perception of the game.

        I’m sure I’m not alone in saying we want CCP and EvE to succeed. I’m also sure that your fellow CSMers understand how important their role is going to be. Or at least I sincerely hope that the beatings will continue until they do. Yes, it IS that important.

        Enough pontificating. Work smart, work hard, go kick some @rse 🙂

  4. Zand Vor says:

    Grats!

  5. Druur Monakh says:

    It was a pleasure to meet you in person at last! And congratulations on your win!

    Myself, I can’t forget Steve Ronuken wandering around the final party in a rather happy mood, greeting random strangers with “Hi. I’m Steve Ronuken. I’m on the CSM.” – as if he hadn’t really expected to make the cut.

  6. mararinn says:

    Grats Mike, you glutton for punishment 🙂

  7. suzariel says:

    I’m glad you made it!

  8. Lightstar says:

    Lol, grats mate.

    I’ve never really thought about what you’d look like….

    *grins and gets ready to duck* sir hammerlock perhaps??!

  9. Jon Illat says:

    Congratulations 🙂

  10. bobfenner says:

    Congratulations Mike. I don’t really have time to play any more but I try and keep abreast of what’s happening as I may well return one day……

  11. Dinsdale Pirannha says:

    And yet, as the high sec casual player watches his industry crash and burn, not a comment from the CSM rep who states he supports them.

    Yeah, right.

    • mikeazariah says:

      Funny how a double positive can be read as a negative.

      I spent a fair amount of time talking to people about the changes at fanfest, ask Druur, above, for example

      m

      • Dinsdale Pirannha says:

        At Fanfest, to what, a hundred people that you directly talked to? How about some comments that we all can see.

    • Druur Monakh says:

      My dear companion Jaana Brill came to Fanfest specifically because of the industry changes, and to make sure that CCP had thought about the fallout effects she was seeing (she’s not adverse to change as such). After talking to Mike, Malcanis, and other people, her concerns were abated, and apparently her concerns as well as those of others found Greyscale’s ear – in part by means of the CSM 8 members.

      As for specific comments – the industry changes are plenty and bodacious, making it hard to comment on them in general. If you’re concerned about a branch of industry in particular, please go into details.

      I can tell you one thing: the CCP devs I talked to realize that some established industry activities will crash and burn because they will be overrun by newbies. To paraphrase: “As veteran player, you can be expected to put in more effort to make your ISK.”

      • Dinsdale Pirannha says:

        So CCP believes that making an already complex game even harder will attract MORE players, as opposed to drive them away????

  12. Congratulations Mike. So much still to be done. Glad to see my vote counted. Also, don’t forget the support tug!

Leave a Reply

