OOC The deadliest aggro

I know better but I am tired and holiday stress needed a release, so I played while there were ‘things to do’.  Any married man reading this is probably rolling his eyes already knowing what is coming.

The mistake was compounded by my running missions and not actually reading up on them before accepting.  Buzz Kill, I forgot that that specific mission spawns waves including a late wave that has web/scramble frigs.  Not a perfect storm but damn close.

“Can you come here a minute?”  I swear, that phrase is probably on the tombstone of many a pilots favourite ship.  For me it was . . . sniff . . . a macharial.  Not totally bling fit but it had some nice toys on it.

Destroyed: Machariel
System: Apanake
Security: 0.5
Damage Taken: 87333

Involved parties:

Name: Gistior Seizer / Angel Cartel (laid the final blow)
Damage Done: 87333

Destroyed items:

EMP L, Qty: 39
Republic Fleet 800mm Repeating Cannon
EMP L, Qty: 39
EMP L, Qty: 3078 (Cargo)
Pithum C-Type EM Ward Amplifier
Mobile Tractor Unit (Cargo)
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
Large Ancillary Current Router I
Republic Fleet 800mm Repeating Cannon
EMP L, Qty: 39
Republic Fleet 800mm Repeating Cannon
Large Core Defense Field Extender II
Gyrostabilizer II
Republic Fleet 800mm Repeating Cannon
EMP L, Qty: 39
EMP L, Qty: 39
Large Anti-Thermal Screen Reinforcer II
Pithum A-Type Kinetic Deflection Amplifier
Tracking Enhancer II

Dropped items:

EMP L, Qty: 39
Pithum A-Type Thermic Dissipation Amplifier
EMP L, Qty: 160 (Cargo)
Gyrostabilizer II
Republic Fleet 800mm Repeating Cannon
Republic Fleet 800mm Repeating Cannon
Gyrostabilizer II
Tracking Enhancer II
Republic Fleet 800mm Repeating Cannon
Signal Amplifier II
Tracking Enhancer II
EMP L, Qty: 39
Pith B-Type Large Shield Booster

Yes, I went back and picked up after myself.  Yes I logged for the night right after that, not a rage quit, juuust . . . tired.  I have not died to rats in a very long time.  It hurts.  The ship was nice and I was having fun with it.  now it is just dust.

I joked, yesterday, with another person running missions that I should name the Macharial ‘Sorry’.  Two reasons for it, I said, first I am Canadian and second I felt sorry for any ship that came into my sights.  They didn’t last long.

Well neither did I.  I’ll play tomorrow.  You cannot burn me out with a loss or two.  But dammit, I liked that ship.

Do I blame my wife?  No.  Assigning blame is a fools game and not productive unless you plan on making changes as a result of the assigned blame.  I have been married almost a quarter of a century.  Pixels are worth far far less than the woman who puts up with me and loves me (so she says) and I love her right back (so I tell her, often (guys that is the most important take away from this post but you probably won’t realize it till you are my age))

RIP ‘Sorry’

I have a tree to decorate.

fly it like you won it, your ships, not my tree

m

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to OOC The deadliest aggro

  1. bobfenner says:

    I feel your pain mt friend. Been there a few times myself, normally when I have to remove spiders from the house. 🙂

  2. That just means you have your priorities straight.

    Note, though, that since rats only point (even if the flavor text says scram) you can anchor a personal hangar thingy in the mission with a warp core stab in it, refit when you get the deadliest aggro, and warp off to safety. All you need is a few extra seconds, purchased with “Just a minute, dear.” 😉

  3. Landredas says:

    We’ve all been there. Lately things have been better for me as my wife has picked up some mobile game for her phone. My wife’s eyes have been opened by hearing herself say “just a sec, this level has a timer on it”. My wife still asks for my attention while i’m playing, but lately the requests have included “…but dock up first, you don’t need to lose a ship.”

  4. Deth Delkanara says:

    Happens to us all. Mine was in another game and the blood curtling screach followed by “KILL IT!”, Yep, professional bug squisher in another life.

  5. Debir says:

    Ah, I see your problem: no MJD. The correct order of operations is: “30 seconds, dear”. Pull drones, select station, align, MJD, “dock”, ship enters warp, breath sigh of relief, “OK, all yours”.

    Either that or a super-tanked ‘snake or SNI, but that makes missions a lot slower.

    My wife is pretty patient. What I find most awkward is when a supposed-to-be-sleeping child calls out “Da..ad!” when I’m in the middle of FC-ing an incursion site or PvP engagement.

Leave a Reply

