OOC: Interview with Marc Scaurus . . . lowsec

Marc Scaurus is trying to find a decent candidate for lowsec voters.  He sent word out to people who he already had heard were running and a few of us answered.  Here are the questions and my answers.

You can see the others here

What single part of the game do you feel requires the most work in terms of iteration by CCP?
Faction warfare

Do you feel that lowsec is ‘broken’? If not, explain why. If so, explain what you want to see done to fix it.
I don’t like the term ‘broken’. I would rather say it is underutilized or not fully developed into what it could be.

I’d like to see it become a vibrant area for the solo pvp (or small gang) player to be. Somehow there needs to be ways to stop hotdrop o’clock from ruining simple small gang fun.

Do you have any plans to push CCP, if elected, to iterate on lowsec in general?
Jack Dants ideas on a shift in sec status made me think a lot about how we could change the life and decisions that lowsec dwellers make.

I keep returning to the visage of the wild frontier towns where ‘anything goes’. Boosters, gambling, make Mos Eisley look like Vatican city

In your opinion, where should lowsec rank in terms of priority for iteration by CCP?
Gah, make me go politician on you, eh?

I like the way the teams at CCP have not chosen one space but broad sweeps and ‘little things’ I don’t see that they have to prioritize so the step child gets fed and the fat and sassy hisec gets left in a dirty diaper. I don’t want to choose . . . but if you press me . . .

Null has gotten a lot of iterations and changes, supers, sov, etc. ALL securities have received incursions but it mainly is being played in hisec. Rumors put lowsec and wh space next on the ‘changes’ list and I would be all for that.

Lowsec is home to around 8% of the playerbase. What, in your opinion, are the main factors that make it more attractive to its current residents than other areas of space?
The freedom to be in a small unit and not anchored to a space or a dictator. To be doing pvp on your own terms.

When I flew in OUCH I enjoyed the adrenaline rush of Tama and the area about it. Sure I lost ships but it was an entirely different game from being a mission runner. Later, in null I honestly did not get the same rush. It was all intel channels and standard practices.

I do wonder if some of the players in low are there to be the counter culture, they would go all hipster on us if folks started crowding in sayin ‘I was here before it was cool, I was underground/lowsec’

Some might say that 8% is proof that lowsec is not worth the effort since so few players are there. Bull. Make it better, give the people the mechanics and the ability to carve out a living there and see that % climb.

What are your thoughts regarding Faction Warfare, particularly the idea that FW is the key to revitalizing lowsec?
I don’t know that FW is the key.  I think it is another niche in the sandbox but I also think that low has a lot of niche play that is not dependent on FW at all.

Would you support using Faction Warfare as a test bed for future Nullsec Sovereignty Mechanics?
No. Faction warfare should be its own thing, not a cheap knock off to make someone elses life better.

What is your thinking regarding piracy in lowsec – is it good, bad, or ugly? Would you like to preserve it in the face of upcoming tweaks and possible expansion to Faction Warfare, or would you like to see lowsec go in a different direction?
Good, but there must be a way to make it better.

Piracy is a part of the game and should be made better, not tossed over for some other vision of lowsec. I would fight to find ways to allow piracy to continue and maybe even expand on that lifestyle choice.

What are your thoughts on the notion that increased protection for PVE players in lowsec will result in a better lowsec?
bullshit

What are your thoughts regarding the introduction of a PVE activity or item (minerals, manufacturing certain items, etc) that would be lowsec-exclusive?
YES!

But make something new. Do NOT steal minerals or choke-point materials from other security spaces. This is not about nerfing them to strengthen us. it is about making everything better without a balancing loss.

This attitude needs reinforcing, too often I see ideas like ‘take abc’s out of wormholes, too little risk for isk. Bull. Add something new, something people will want to go see and buy. Look how many people went in after ORE blueprints for the Noctis.

What is your opinion on the Jack Dant proposal (link below) and the general belief in some sectors that improvements to lowsec should focus on entry-level, casual PVP?
doh, not fair.  I commented on this, above, before I read this question.  For repeating . . .yeah, I think it is a great starting point

If elected to CSM7 and subsequently informed by CCP that lowsec was the ‘hot topic’ for iteration in the coming year, what input and advice would you have for them?
Seriously?

Look, I spent a few months in lowsec with OUCH. I have flown with the Bastards and been ransomed by the Tuskers. But I do NOT consider myself a lowsec player, it is not what I am trying to be.

What I would be doing if told the above by CCP is come right back to the players and try to be what I am running to be. A Representative. This is not about electing MY ideas. It is not about ME being the voice that makes decisions. It is about having someone who is willing to ask, to represent. That is what I am trying to be. Someone you will vote for because I WILL represent YOU

I’d be contacting you and people like you who have a set interest in possible changes to lowsec. I sure as hell would try to find Jack Dant and people who have made the effort to make changes to the game in the oft ignored assembly hall and Jita park.

I would not be giving advice to CCP until I got advice from the player base that it would be most likely to affect.

What lengths are you willing to go to in order to make pirates flashy red on overview by default again?
What? When did you guys lose that?

Seriously.

OK, so it has been a few months since I spent a decent amount of time in low. But they took that away?

wtf

Mike Azariah is a two-time candidate for CSM (5 and 6). You can find out more about him at his blog.

If people from hisec have similar questions send them in.  I do not ‘polish’ my responces, you get what I think, not what I think you want to hear.  I was the first to answer Marc and I will try to be prompt on answering any other questions sent in.

But take ONE thing away from this. I am running to represent players, not grind my own axe over issues.  You can ask me what I think about things but you should also tell me what you think.  Convince me you have a good idea.  I will tell you I like it or call bullshit on it.  I’ll represent players of Eve, not trolls.  (Though at times the differentiation gets tough)

fly it like you won it

(prowler and 2 wolves given out yesterday in channel)

m

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OOC: Interview with Marc Scaurus . . . lowsec

  1. Marc Scaurus says:

    Thanks again for doing that Mike, your time was much appreciated! Lots of interesting replies to the questions so far 🙂

    • mikeazariah says:

      Yeah, I have been reading the others . . . enjoying the comparisons. Out of curiousity, when you have collected them will YOU be deciding who you will vote for and announcing/recommending one to your readership. Or more importantly will you be doing a summary of the replies that you got for the tl:dr crew who absolutely will not click the little +’s to see what all the people said?

      m

Leave a Reply

