A Bad Don

He sat a bit forward in the coffee shop, favoring his shoulder.  As he sat he idly flipped through the book that he had picked up and wondered what would be the best way to find out if it was really what it purported to be.

The interviews tones have changed now and it has been made clear that we are not to communicate with the outside until this ‘audit’ is completed.  All pretense of civility evaporated when one of my colleagues tried to open a channel to the University he was funded by and had an auditor at his door in less than a minute even though the call had not even gone through.

That was near the end of the book.  A lot of it was psych evaluations and testing data of various animals that the early stages of clone transfer had been tested on.  Issah had been very concerned about  . . .

“I just got that ship washed.”  Keiligh said as she slid into the seat across from him.

Mike ran his hand through his hair and nodded.  “I’ll cover the expenses though it seems like you already took care of that.”

“Insurance did cover a lot of it and it was ‘such a surprise’ to win the Battleship in your last draw.”

Snorting Mike sipped his coffee and set it to one side, on top of the book.  “If I honestly thought you could influence things to that extent . . . instead I am of the opinion that you are freakishly lucky.”

Her laughter was musical and not a bit like that of a manipulative villianess.  “So, I have a backup ship being delivered later today.  An Abaddon.  Thought I would see if you were going to make good on your promise . . . how should I fit something like that for an Incursion Fleet?”

Mike grinned.  “I have a bit of a thing about Amarr ships lately, since one just tried to kill me.  But I did promise you fittings and the Abaddon is an interesting one.”

“I like them but why do you call them interesting?”

“Because I have seen both a shield and an armor version of them.”  Mike leaned back and grinned.  “Though given that the damn thing has armor resistances built in it almost seems wrong to shield it up.”

She shook her head.  “You shield guys are loony.  So how should I fit so I won’t be laughed at?”

Mike leaned back and set his comm into display mode.  “I am going to assume you have the skills for one of these otherwise adjustments will have to made accordingly.

[Armor-DPS Abaddon]
8x Mega Pulse Laser II (Conflagration L)

Cap Recharger II
3x Tracking Computer II

2x Heat Sink II
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
2x 1600mm Reinforced Rolled Tungsten Plates I
Armor Kinetic Hardener II
Armor Explosive Hardener II

2x Large Energy Discharge Elutriation I
Large Trimark Armor Pump I

5x Hammerhead II
5x Hobgoblin II

“That, right there, is a variation of what you will be flying, most likely.  With that ammo you will be doing a fair amount of DPS and the tracking computers will make you handy for the Vanguards.  Lots of Frigates and Cruisers in that one so you need to be able to target and hit them.  Other ammo has other bonuses, of course.”

“Of course.”  Kielidh was distracted, checking the fittings and doing some calculations.  “Looks like almost 800 dps and estimated hit points of . . . a little over 101,000. ”

“I leave that to you because skills play such a role that your mileage may be different than mine.  Some folks like a thicker skin and swap the rigs for trimarks.  Depends on your preferences.  Now the shield one . . . ”

[Abaddon,shield dps]

8x Mega Pulse Laser II (Conflagration L)

Large Shield Extender II
2x Invulnerability Field II
Photon Scattering Field II

2x Heat Sink II
2x Tracking Enhancer II
Damage Control II
2x Capacitor Power Relay II

Large Anti-Thermal Screen Reinforcer I
2x Large Energy Discharge Elutriation I

5x Hammerhead II
5x Hobgoblin II

Kielidh looked at and shook her head.  “Why would anybody do that to an armor ship?”

“Well, ”  Mike drawled, leaning back.  “It might be so they can fly in shield instead of armor.  Use a neutral mix of rigs and you could carry both fits in the hold, fly with whoever you liked, depending on who was looking for a ship more.  I do like to be adaptable.  Now I will admit that the ehp is a little less, rounds out to about 93k but the dps is still nice and you’d be amased at how much difference there is between shield logi’s and armor.”

“You still fly both?”

A muffled ‘crump’ shook the station before Mike could answer.  The two capsuleers knew that sort of sound and did not even consult but opened channels to their respective ships to see if a scramble had been called.  Mike thought that it might be the beginning of an incursion . . . he later wished he had been right.

*Attention.  Ship self destruct in Station . . . Emergency Flight Control protocols are now in effect.  Please remain calm and await further instructions*

Mike shook his head thinking that the riots had come home.  He had read about the levels of unrest in Jita and other trade hubs but he had not realized that it was now spreading.

His comm chimed.  “Are you OK?”

“Scotty?  Yeah I was having coffee, why wouldn’t I be OK?”

“Your place . . . it took a huge hit.  That was not a self destruct . . . it was the station response.  The safety protocols had been offlined, somehow, and they got one shot off before internal guns removed them.  Your suite is now a melted slag and we are sending emergency crews to the adjoining areas.  Is Dee with you?”

Mike shook his head.  “No, isn’t she coordinating the protocols?”

“We cannot find her.  She took an early lunch break and said she was heading over to see you.”

The silence filled the spaces . . . “Keep trying.  Keep me informed.  What ship was it that ‘malfunctioned’?”

Scotty looked to one side.  “Non capsuleer, looks like an old decommissioned Amarr BC.”

Frowning, he laid a hand on the table to steady himself.  “Keep me informed.”  He repeated and closed the connection.

“My ship is OK, crew says they are seeing wreckage further up the hanger.”  Kilidh said, closing her comm.

“Look, I’ll chat with you later . . . I still am not finished talking about incursions but it turns out that some of the wreckage is my quarters.”

Mike scooped up his things from the table and left at a dead run.  A few minutes later he stood before a cold steel door that would not open.  He spent a long time staring at that door.

************************************************************************

I am tired of staring at that door.  I think the CQ could be slagged . . . at least until the get something more . . .comfortable.

I would like to thank Mandreh and Eve Incursions respectively for the Armor and Shield fits.  Your input is welcome and there will be more to come on this as I plan on writing a more detailed set of posts, chatting with Kalidge about the Incursion fittings.

Of course, comments are bribable . . . how do you feel about the new Incarna or would you fly with or in one of the above Abaddons?  I am SURE you can guess what the prize will be this time.

yup, comment before one week today to be entered

fly it like you won it

m

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A Bad Don

  1. Niceandblue says:

    Love shield tanking armor ships! 🙂

  2. Keilidh says:

    Dee? *Gasp* Nooooooooo!

    I like the fits, and versatility is a good thing, yes. Still seems odd to do that with an Armor boat. Might see about keeping the spare bits with me to toggle. I’m not up to T2 guns yet, mind you. The joys of not being able to focus on one discipline. I’ll probably hit T2 Beams before pulses too. Arg.

    Personally I really like the CQ even though the amount of content is painfully small. I’m also playing on a computer that handles it reasonably well. Not spectacularly, but I can run one client on high detail, or two at medium. If it was crashing out like it is for some people I’m sure my opinion would be a lot less complimentary.

  3. mikeazariah says:

    I alternate spelling things like color/colour center/centre armor armour and you name, obviously

    m

  4. paritybit says:

    I like the captains quarters — but obviously, of the most vocal group, I am a minority. Will certainly be more happy when we have actual interaction with other avatars.

    I am, however, unhappy that every time I clone jump I get a note that says my appearance will be changed to my last known registered whatever — how do I update my registered appearance? There seems to be no way.

    • mikeazariah says:

      Funny thing is that I want it a bit less spartan but I appreciate the work behind what we have now. Just I do set the door as defaukt so I do not have to see that damn tv console

      m

    • Keilidh says:

      I have not yet tested it, but I think it may be tied to either creating or upgrading the clone.

  5. vsmitVsmit says:

    Very interesting way to tie in with the “protests” in Jita.

    The idea behind the shield Abaddon seems to be that you can just get better DPS through more Heatsinks, which helps tremendously if you were sniping instead of just going in headlong and melting everything to slag.

    Armor tanking a sniper ship is probably not the best idea, since may come close to running out of powergrid (you will, if you fit tachs), meaning that your rigs would have to be ACRs instead of trimarks or something that can help with the DPS.

    I prefer armor tanking, and sniping, you got any Amarr BS fits for that?

  6. Stolen steel says:

    Character name Stolen Steel. I’ve still never been able to get into an armor fleet…

  7. HardinSalvor says:

    CQ isn’t fun, but it’s impressive from a technical standpoint. Eve was never intended to have ambulation. It’s like TF2 adding a spaceship zone where you can fly around in circles and view your items. I’m reserving judgement until walking in stations replaces trudging in hotels.

    BTL Pub (main shield channel) is full of awesome, and that’s my totally unbiased opinion.

  8. mikeazariah says:

    I am also a member of BTL Pub channel and find that the most common place where I recruit or am recruited from. For those of you not paying attention, a lot of what I will be writing in character will be cribbed from the above commenters stuff.

    If you are going to steal horses, steal thoroughbreds

    m

    • HardinSalvor says:

      If you’re going to steal horses, take a second to make sure they aren’t gonna collapse when you walk out the door (see what I did there? xD) and try to ride off into the sunset.

  9. Rihanna Reid says:

    I feel like Incarna isn’t…done yet. Yeah it’s really cool for about an hour, but then you realize that little is actually interactable and you can’t walk through the station. I have no idea how many times I’ve hit the station button to leave my quarters. The lighting makes me look jaundiced and skeletal. I can’t take a nap. And CCP should definitely have two sets of graphics settings for in space and in station. And they really shouldn’t automatically load you into the quarters when you log in. Honestly when you dock in station you should have a decanting option from the hangar bay, so I’m not hideously annoyed when I dock repeatedly for requesting/completing missions.
    I assume one (or more) of the coming updates will open up the station and so forth, but right now, Incarna seems gimmicky and incomplete, and slows down my missioning. It’s also done nothing for wormhole space, but I guess we just live in our ships there. =)
    CCP is also steadily taking away options from the players who don’t want anything to do with Incarna.
    I’m not even going to touch NEX ’cause I pretend it doesn’t exist.

  10. Rihanna Reid says:

    Holy crap there’s a request/accept missions remotely option now? Well, there goes one complaint. =D

  11. sakjit spey says:

    When news of comming Incursions, I became an EFT warrior. I was constantly tweeking set ups looking for the best and developed an Abaddon fit, subsequent training plan and Implemented it. Having already trained Caldari BS and shield supporting skills. I made it into my first shield incursion fleet (thank you Hardin) just before the training of the Armor vessel would be complete, and never looked back. I can fly the Abaddon now but have never bothered…have to look into that.

    Re: Incarna, I too am tired of the door. Being an ‘older’ player, I was thinking of an old game that i used to devote hours to and that was Origin Software’s ‘Privateer’ It had an aspect of ‘walking in stations’ that buy Eves’ technology standards, are ancient. The interface was only changing wallpaper, from office to ship fitting to agent interaction, however the experience was engaging, and made you ‘feel’ like you were actually going places!! The station interface wase different depending on your destination. It actually felt like you had arrived at a different station. If I was “CCP numero uno”, and didn’t play with Barbie and Ken dolls, my rendeition of Incarna would be much different. Think of an age of empires “third person from aloft” perspective. The avatar would be small, but you could fit many in a, ‘lobby’ if you will, clicking on others avatars would bring up an private chat with them. You could move around to doors, and lifts to visit other offices and services……easy. I don’t think I will ever purchase a vanity item as I still do not wish to play with ‘Barbies’. Hwever, in all honestly, there is something promising behind that door…..I am certain my computer will need upgrades as the CCP upgrades and further content are deployed. I will try to be patient with both….

    speak it like you believe it……

  12. Lolmer says:

    Oh no, not Dee! 😦

    As for the shield Abaddon, if you really want to be able to fly in either a shield or armour fleet, have two ships fitted, one for each. If you travel far (and often) to get into Incursions (as I hear Mr. Azariah does ;)) perhaps use a ship that does not have such an awesome bonus towards one type of tank (such as the Abaddon and it’s great armour resists). If you prefer Amarr, go for say the Armageddon or Apocalypse, otherwise I prefer the Dominix myself.

    Incarna itself looks to add a new dynamic to EvE, but one I won’t be partaking in until I can interact with others and spruce up my quarters (as well as having the proper racial quarters, with some variance to others of the same race (think Motel 6 vs. Marriot)). Not against it, just would rather some of the core functionality of the game (spaceships) have the focus and not other things (Incarna, but even more so DUST 514 and World of Darkness. Get your own funding for those and don’t use our EvE money to pay for them). I’d hate to sound like a broken record and repeat the usual list, but Faction Warfare, T3, ship balance, etc. could all use some love and those should be funded with our EvE subscriptions well before any non-EvE (or even EvE-related but not EvE (a la DUST 514)).

    • mikeazariah says:

      Ah. But do any of you know WHY Dee died?

      m

      • Lolmer says:

        To make room for another girl or as part of the book/archaeology plot as a warning to those not wanting the book exposed? 🙂

      • mikeazariah says:

        Yer damn close on your guesses, you been peeking at my notes? Oh wait, I barely keep notes

        m

      • Lolmer says:

        As I can’t seem to reply to the lower two replies in this thread, I’ll put it here. 😉

        “Yer damn close on your guesses, you been peeking at my notes? Oh wait, I barely keep notes.”

        You left your notes between the lines. Love reading your blog, thank you for continuing to write. 😉

  13. Andrei Taganov says:

    “I, too, love Door”

    It was a rather tongue-in-cheek quote from the Incarna threadnaught, which immediately became my forum sig (if I ever decide to post), that I sort of identify with. I’m one of the players that feels CCP has been wasting valuable resources on this whole WiS thing (and I feel CQ doesn’t do a lot to prove me wrong), and, for me, this part of the expansion is a downgraded station wallpaper.

    I do, however, very much like the new turrets and alt function for probing! In fact, I rate those two changes somewhere under the learning skill removal and a few other changes that I can’t remember atm (it’s late, and I read eve blogs on my phone before bed), so I’m still really enjoying a lot of CCPs current direction. Something for everyone works for me! And if WiS ever has some actual gameplay tied to it, maybe I’ll turn it back on. But even then, my priorities in eve will always be outside of stations, so I still wish CCPs were the same.

    As for the Abaddon fits: I found them quit helpful (as with the logis from that post) because I’m just rounding out my Amarr crosstraining about now. So, excellent timing there!

    • mikeazariah says:

      Thank you for the comment about the timing . . . in case you haven’t noticed, I don’t mind doing requests. They may not be instantaneous, perfect, or right. But I do do them.

      m

  14. Aeson Achilles says:

    I actually purchased an Apocalypse just for Incursion missions as I think I’d feel a bit less akward losing one of them instead of another fitted tier 3 battleship. Too bad I’m still working on t2 bs lasers. I too for one like to have an optional shield tank on my ships and I’m usually scorned for it but I just never get used to things actually hitting the hull.

  15. Galnog says:

    Can’t say I’m crazy about the whole Incarna thing. I understand CCP is trying to increase the appeal of the game, but I don’t see any need (at this time) to stroll around the station. It’s cool to lok at — but I was perfectly happy with the “old” interface (which apparently will be coming back). The other point is that it seems to suck down my CPU a bit. As to the luxury goods — Meh…

    That’s my two cents worth. As long as I keep sending them my $$$ every month, they could care less.

    Character name is Galnog. Thanks for the opportunity.

    • mikeazariah says:

      IF and WHEN it becomes more than me alone in a steel cage, I will be interested.

      Till then, I find I am logging off in space a hell of a lot more often . . .

      m

  16. Ty Delaney says:

    I have to admit, I enjoy the CQ and I use the heck out of it. I’ve bought ships advertised on the TV — I started (and finished) the Gurista epic arc (working undercover for the Fed Navy, of course) solely because it was mentioned on the big screen — I didn’t even know there WAS such a thing before then.

    I run all my PI off that side screen — it helps me actually remember to DO it.

    And I walk all the way back up the ramp and over to my pod to undock, rather than hitting the convenient button. I’m a total convert.

Leave a Reply

