Meeting II

Stunned silence filled the room as they looked at the image Mike had proposed for a logo.  “Ooookay, then.  That one is a ‘no’.”  Mike removed the image from the wall and laughed.  “I am sure we will find something.  Now, however I have the second thing I wanted to talk to you about.  Funds.”

The entire population of the room sat back as though he had just announced he was carrying an contagious airborne disease.  Mike looked about the room and sighed.

“To date the GBA has given away a little under 1 billion isk in ships and prizes.  We have purchased a few BPC’s to help defray costs and some are still in stock.  Thanks to people like Kaleigh we have a few ships coming into the storehouse as well as going out.  I have a trio of ships ready to award and they will be given away in the next week or so.”

Mike paused.  “I am willing to take donations and I do not think the GBA has a bottomless wallet.  What I wanted to ask of you was a day.”

“Time is money?  Dewayne asked from the back.

“Exactly.  I could organize an operation but we all have different leanings and I don’t want someone to feel obligated to mine or run an incursion or go deep into a wormhole.  I know there are, among us, people who have skills and preferences towards each of those.  Me, I do a bit of everything.  So I am asking that one day you toss some of what you make into the kitty.  The next day I spend in a Gallente system fighting the Sansha will also go into the pot.”  Mike paused.  “If you don’t want to do this, I totally understand.  Some of you are poor and just living hand to mouth.  Some of you are saving for the next shiny, I know I am . . . ”  Mike tossed an image of an Orca up on the screen.  “Some of you are not Gallente and only show up to the meeting for the free booze.”  He grinned at VSmit who had a drink halfway to his mouth.  “Whatever.  You have NO idea how hard it is for me to ask this of you and if you think I am asking too much then I apologize.”

He looked around the room with a smile on his face.  “The Gallente Hero channel and the GBA have become a corp without all the drama.  We get along, trade plans and ideas.  It is a place where the queen of the care-bears can chat with a Bastard.  I want to keep it like that.  I don’t know about the rest of you but it is sometimes more active than some corp or alliance channels I have seen and the conversation is . . . better.  That is because of you.  That is why I have so much trouble even asking for a day.  But I have and there it is.”

************************************************************

Lessons.

A friend of mine had a sign up on the wall of a store he opened.  “Since you are our friend we’d love to give you a discount but we did research and none of our enemies comes here to do business.”  So I have to ask friends because the other folks don’t care.

On the other hand, if Chribba or one of the other high strata eve player can see fit to donate one day of what THEY make . . . wow.

If nobody donates . . . well even one of my days will mean a ship goes out to some lucky sod every now and again.

fly it like you won it

m

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meeting II

  1. Keilidh says:

    An intriguing idea, I have to say. I’d be up for helping out.

    Also, did you misspell Keilidh so that the “donating industrialist” and the “snidley-whiplash” can be different peoples? 😛

  2. mikeaazariah says:

    Nah, I spelled it differently because I could not recall the correct spelling and so I faked it.

    m

Leave a Reply

