BB 20 Blaming the victim

Welcome to the twentieth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

With the recent completion of the 3rd installment of the Hulkageddon last month, @CyberinEVE, author of Hands Off, My Loots!, asks: “Griefing is a very big part of EVE. Ninja Salvaging, Suicide Ganking, Trolling, and Scamming are all a very large part of the game. What do you think about all these things? You can talk about one, or all…but just let us know your overall opinion on Griefing, and any recommendations you may have to change it if you think it’s needed.”

********************

“So? You got it all out of your system? Those guys really ruined the race for you, didn’t they?” She handed him some painkillers and a drink.

“Who ruined it?” Mike grumbled.

“Those griefers who set up traps along the course of the race . . . they ruined it for everybody.”

Mike winced as he tried to open his eyes. “No. They were what made the race special. It is DEATH race, not ‘oooh, I can jump fast race’. Tell the truth, I don’t believe many griefers exist, at least not as many as people think.”

“I hear people all around talking about them, though.”

“Semantics. I will leave it to better people than I to do the definitions but what some call griefing others say are just the nature of the universe we are in. Some of my associates would probably be happy if they were the only people within three jumps of the belt they happen to be in. I don’t mind a little company . . .and I am willing to accept the fact that some of the company might be less than welcome or friendly. Thing is, we only allow grief to happen if WE make the mistakes.”

“So it is the victims fault? Oh do NOT go there with me.”

Mike winced and rolled over. “I went into 0.0 in a well announced path of a race. I cannot fault Agony for being there to greet me. I have read of many scams, almost ALL of them are based on the greed of the victim. The only griefing I can imagine even coming close to being not the fault of the victim is hisec ganking of miners. A well planned suicide gank crew can catch almost anybody. But if you pay attention and watch for the signs . . . and the changes to insurance . . not as bad as it once was. Smack talk . . . well I have block on my channels for some people who have irritated me. If they get to racial or below even my low standards . . . I no longer hear them. If they cross some very well defined lines then I block and toss their files to the authorities.”

He tried peeking again and found she had dimmed the lights. “Blame the victim DOES have validity. The guy who lost billions in a kestrel . . . it was his fault. He was not griefed, he knew damn well the chances he was taking. If I took my proteus into nullsec I would be a glowing target for every person who felt that killboard statistics were important. They would not be griefing me, they would be playing their game and I would be playing into their hands.”

“But you did take the race loss hard.”

“Yup, I don’t like losing and I wanted to do better. But I wasn’t griefed, I was killed, fair and square. I paid to enter that race and so I was the victim and I WAS to blame. I make a big thing about being what some call a carebear. But I have my eyes open, well figuratively speaking anyways. The big hunts and events of New Eden may be distasteful to some but then so is a Gallente Mardi Gras in Amarran holdings. You know what made me decide to become a capsuleer? In the end it was the stories of betrayal, of scams and of piracy. I wanted to be part of something larger, more dangerous than just planetary shenanigans. Even if I am not one of the predators, I want to prove that I am a canny prey.”

She smiled and kissed his forehead. “You need more rest.”

“I am a panda . . . I show up and fire missiles then I run.” He chuckled and was snoring a moment later.

“Panda? She called up the database in the next room and read the file of a long extinct beast of legend. The first line made her start laughing and looking back at the dark room where he was sleeping.

Panda. Large black-and-white bear-like mammal, native to China. Eats, shoots and leaves.

“Still a big old teddy bear to me . . . ”

***********************************

Lessons

A few people told me that they felt this was a weaker subject for the blog banter. Thing is most of those people are regulars to the game and ahve adjusted to the mindset.

Put yourself back at the start, you have come out of games where friendly fire is impossible. Where pvp happens only in special areas or only when you purposely fly a special tag making it possible. Now you come here. Ganks, scams, suicides and pvp . . . we are an unforgiving group and some laugh if they are threatened with “I am gonna petition this!” type threats. I found it hilarious the anger and disappointment generated when one such petition was successful!

If players really want to be safe from other players . . . well, ask CCP to make a single player version of the game Eve-Elite. I played Elite on an Apple IIc long long ago. I like this better, with all the things that can go wrong there are so many more things that go right. Mainly the people I talk to. . . . you folks make this game addictive.

m

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to BB 20 Blaming the victim

  1. Pingback: Griefing… a Blog Banter | Diary of a Garbageman

  2. Great post!! Love reading the fiction side and then the “author commentary” too.

  3. Pingback: Blog Banter #20: The Joy of Loss « Evil Silents

  4. Agile Nakajima says:

    Your skifftacular racin’ barge really livened up the race, and I salute you. Shame it got exploded, but then you knew going in that it was likely to happen and accepted it.
    The risk of getting blown up, ganked, even undercut and bankrupted, are what make the successes feel like they’re worth soomething,

  5. Pingback: Grief or Not? | Et Tu, Brutus?

  6. Seismic Stan says:

    I agree. The fear and cut-throat nastiness of New Eden is what makes playing EVE a unique experience. Personally I can’t quite bring myself to be so amorally predatory, but I like that I have the choice to. I think I too am a panda-class carebear – to lazy to hunt, but have the capacity to get the appropriate tackle out when threatened with extinction.

Leave a Reply

