Jiorj (Blog Banter 14)

Welcome to the fourteenth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by none other than me, CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

The first banter of 2010 comes to us from the EVE Blog Father, in which I ask the following: As we begin another year in New Eden, ask yourselves “What Now?” What will I attempt next? What haven’t I done so far in EVE? Was it out fear, funds, or knowledge? Have I always wanted to start my own corporation, but have never dared doing so? Is there a fledging mercenary waiting to come out of its shell? Or maybe an Industrialist? What steps and objectives will I set myself to accomplish in order to reach my ultimate goal for this year? EVE is what you make of it. So, what is it going to be for you?

There was a sale, over Christmas, Steam sold copies of Eve for 5 dollars. How could I resist? I have not yet activated the second account because I was waiting for a reson to do so. Then this banter came along. Ah, a reason.

I was talking with Black Claw about OUCH and asking if he had any minimum requirements for entry. He told me that there were NONE. We got to talking and I told him about George Plimpton. For those of you who don’t know Gearge was a writer who didn’t just observe sports . . . he got right into the thick of things and did what he was writing about. He sparred with Sugar Ray Leonard, pitched against National league batters at an AllStar game. In the NFL he played for both the Lions and the Colts in preseason games. He trained as a goalie in the NHL with the Boston Bruins. Tennis, highwire circus, professional bridge, golf. He wrote about them with authority because he did them, maybe not excellently but he got in there and did them.

He was there when Bobby Kennedy was killed and he helped wrestle Sirhan Sirhan to the ground . . .

he did things, and he wrote.

So there it is. I don’t want this to be done with an experienced character who has their own biases and previous skills. I am going to start over learning and stepping out of my familiar paths. Quite a few people try to do a blog from the beginning. The backlog of failed or discountinued ones is daunting. But whe I start to faulter, slack off, I have two things I have to do before I can quit. One is think of Gearge, the other is ask if maybe it is time to move on and try something else. Learn a new think, skill a new set of skills.

I will start with the tutorial and then apply to OUCH. After that? Well this is not choose my adventure for me but if you have an opening in something I haven’t written about . . . let me know. I will not reveal trade secrets or sensetive information if I can help it. But I will come around, hat in hand, asking you if you are willing to have someone tag along . . . tackle, mine, learn . . . and then write about it. If you are a nullsec corp or colonizing a wormhole . . . industrial or pirate gate campers. I am not asking for a long term committment but a chance to experience as much of Eve as I can . . . and share it with other players.

Expect the first post in two weeks.

Drop me a line if you think you could give a very low sp character some experiences.

List of Participants:

  1. CrazyKinux’s Musing – A beginning is a very delicate time…
  2. The Wandering Druid of Tranquility –
  3. The Elitist – Plans for 112yc
  4. Into the unknown with gun and camera – Show me the money
  5. Ecliptic Rift – Enabling the future
  6. Inanity and Doom – New Year’s Resolutions, New Eden Style
  7. Break Vol – Blog Banter #14
  8. Guns Ablaze – What Now?
  9. Adventures in Mission Running – The Way Forward
  10. Diary of a Pod Pilot – Things I want to do
  11. Inner Sanctum of the Ninveah – The Year That Will Be
  12. Roc’s Ramblings – WordPress ate my blog
  13. Vive Virtual – Frontier Living
  14. A Mule in EVE – Next on the chopping block
  15. Prano’s Journey – I Peer Into My Crystal Pod…
  16. Life in Low Sec – Expanding the Franchise
  17. The Light of Stars – Testing the claims of CCP
  18. More to come…
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jiorj (Blog Banter 14)

  1. Pingback: Words, words, words… | The Wandering Druid of Tranquility

  2. manasi says:

    Hey there were I to do it over again I would do what I did with my alt. give her a single race to train in…learning skills all to 5, and focus on one single race to get perfect skills in combat. After Learning skills go engineering/electronics…then go ships and gunnery ( Emeki my Carrier alt is on this path, she will surpass Manasi this year if trained correctly))

  3. mikeazariah says:

    I have thought of that and will be keeping true to the tribe for ships and ship skills, mainly because ouch had a lot of Rifters donated.

    mike

  4. Pingback: Warp Scrammed » Blog Archive » What do do this year

  5. 5 bucks that’s a good deal. good luck senor.

  6. Pingback: Blog Banter 14: Plans for 112yc | TheElitist

  7. Pingback: EVE Blog Banter #14: Resolutions « The Lathspell of Mithrandir

  8. Pingback: [OOC] Blog banter #14: Things I want to do « Diary of a Pod Pilot

Leave a Reply

