Drawing boards-Ishtar

Mike followed Scotties direction to a small alcove on the far side of the hanger. Standing before a holoprojector was a tall thin man in greying dreadlocks. He was yelling out at a few techs putting the finishing touches on the Ishtar hull. “If I be findin tha you be more than 3 microns out of align I will not be thinkin everytin is Irie. I be comin to your house an makin sure you know who be the one firin your sorry selves. You hear me, mon?” The workers waved and smiled but Mike could see they started double checking everything as the continued the last walkabout. The man turned soulfull eyes on the pod pilot and whistled. “Well lawdy, one o de big men come on down to the deck to talk to us, what the world be comin to?”

Mike grinned and put out his hand. “I am Mike Az . . ”

“I know who you be, mon. It not like you don make the news every now and again. But why you not sending down your prints and plans like de rest o dem? I and I be Everett but most folks, dey call me Ev, mon. Why you down here with us, hey?”

Mike shrugged. “Scotty said you are good man to talk to, and listen to. Dierdre agreed, when I asked her. I am always willing to listen to people, before I make important decisions.”

“You be a mon oo listens? Now I an I seen everytin. Nobody lissens to us deck-apes. We just be cheaper than havin a machine rig and fit a ship.”

“I listen. It is what I do. It usually doesn’t take that long and I am not yet blessed with the omniscience that some of my fellow pilots seem to possess.”

The rangy engineer threw his head back and laughed. “Oh you gonna be all right mon. I be seein why Diedre be still talkin to ya. Well den, wha we gonna talk about? Da weather?”

Mike grinned. “Tut tut, looks like rain. No I was thinking more along the lines of how you think I ought to be fitting out the Kry Baby.” He gestured back at the Ishtar floating above them. “I don’t want to be going out after the bigger targets and making a damn fool of myself.”

“Not gonna be sendin tha one ta join the Domi an the Raven you used ta own, eh, mon?”

“Damn straight. Now what do you think I ought to be outfitting this one with.”

“Well it all depends on what you can be handlin. You a shield boy or ya good with spinnin the armor plates?” Ev tapped the controls and then stepped back form Mike to log in and upload his certifications. “Oooo wee, yoou don know da meanin o da word focus, do you? You know a bit about ever lil ting.”

“Except how to get elected.” Mike rubbed the back of his head and grinned.

“Oh dat not be over yet, mon. You no be burning the barn till you sure the horses have run off.”

It took Mike a moment to figure that one out. He shrugged and pointed over to the holoprojector. “So, what do you recommend?”

“Same ting you do when folks ask how ta vote. Go wit what works for ya, mon. Lemme show you some choices. Most times dis would be easy street . . . da skills make da boat. But easy not for you, no how, mon. You gotta be good at dis and dat and some of dem ova dere. So we comes at it from the different side. What ships you been flying up till now?”

Mike reached over and tapped the controls calling up a pair of ships, the Drake and a Myrmidon. “I Gallente space I fly the Drake most often. It is the one I take exploring wormholes as well. If I am in Khanid space hunting pirates I prefer the Myrm with armor tanking and a booster.” Another tap of the controls vanished those two and brought up his Jaguar. “This I fly for fun.” The sleek lines of the upgraded rifter screamed speed and maneuverability.

Ev whistled and then started to laugh. “Well why you not say so in the first place, mon. I know just the fittin for you. But let me show you the another one just for comparison before I show you the one I tink you gonna like.”

Mike stepped back from the controls and looked up at the images and specs that began to flash above him.

Beta Reactor Control: Shield Power Relay I
Beta Reactor Control: Shield Power Relay I
Beta Reactor Control: Shield Power Relay I
Beta Reactor Control: Shield Power Relay I
Beta Reactor Control: Shield Power Relay I
Invulnerability Field II
Large F-S9 Regolith Shield Induction
Large F-S9 Regolith Shield Induction
Large F-S9 Regolith Shield Induction
Large F-S9 Regolith Shield Induction
Civilian laser
Salvager I
Drone Link Augmentor I
Small Tractor Beam I
Salvager I
Medium Capacitor Control Circuit I
Medium Core Defence Field Purger I

Now dis here be an example of what you call a passive tank. You go out dere in dis and dey can shoot at you for a long day and a good night. It be like your drake only more so. But I don ink that be what you are looking for.

Mike eyed the specs on the side and then looked back at the design. “Why the hell would I mount that flashlight that calls itself a weapon?”

“It be to get the bad guys attention. You be yelling ‘yoo hoo, looky at me!’ And when dey all locks you up and sends bad tings your way, DEN you opens the drone bays an sends your toys out ta play. Dat way da toys last longer. An did ya look at da size o dat bay you got?”

Mike hadn’t. Cruiser class vessels were lucky to have 50 m3 at the best of times so he did not expect . . . “Hels Belles, on a Cruiser? I can acrry a set of five of each size and still . . . ”

“If you work a bit more at it we can show you how to load that ting better than you did your old Dominix. And dat be saying somethin. Now let me show you something more your speed.” The hologram changed and the new design proposal made Mike blink as he tried to take it all in at once.

* 3x 200mm Railgun II, Spike M
* 1x Small ‘Solace’ I Remote Bulwark Reconstruction
* 1x Drone Link Augmentor I
* 1x 10MN Afterburner II
* 1x Drone Navigation Computer I
* 1x F-90 Positional Sensor Subroutines
* 2x Cap Recharger II
* 1x Medium Armor Repairer II
* 1x (adaptive or mission specific) Plating II
* 3x energized (mission specific, not adaptive for CPU limitations) membrane II
* 1x Capacitor Control Circuit I
* 1x Nano pump

“No salvage?”

“So we be takin the top guns out an give you the small popgun and some tractor and salvage tackle. Da ting dat makes me tink you be choosin this one is da speed. Dat first one had one speed, it not too bad but Dis one has da afterburner. You can choose your range and engagement and dat be meaning sometin.”

Mike nodded slowly. “Yer good, lets work a bit on setting this second one up to fit me and my wallet.”

“No worries, mon. Dat what I be here for. You always get good service wit Ev,Mon.”

********

Lessons

For those not getting the accent, ah well. I spend a lot of time with Evemon and wrote this as an indicator of how much I appreciate it and all the folks who contribute to battleclinic.

I also talk to a lot of friendly folks in game who give me builds to consider and debate.

I can not emphasize enough the chat channels have a multitude of value to them. Yes, sometimes you have to be in fleet or corp to see what is going on but you should also scout around for folks from other corps may hang, listen and learn about other aspects of the game.

mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

