He would have liked Eve

I was chatting in a channel with Fintarue (of the We Hurt Team, High Drag) and Random McNally (also High Drag) and Gynax of Fly Reckless.  We were discussing fandom and celebrities.  I thought of something Hunter S Thompson once wrote and went looking for the quote.

Googling and searching did not find me the quote I wanted (still haven’t found the darn thing) but I did come to an awesome realization.  Hunter S Thompson would have loved Eve.  He got it long before the game existed.  Let me show you with a few quotes I tripped across.

The Edge… there is no honest way to explain it because the only people who really know where it is are the ones who have gone over.

Try describing Eve to another adult.  Then read the above.  Hell, send this to Ero1 and the people who want to know where the ban line is.

For every moment of triumph, for every instance of beauty, many souls must be trampled.

Even as a PvE player, if you think about it, this becomes a basic truth of the game.  Read up on the crew of a ship and then decide how many lives you snuffed out in your last battle.  People talk about the violence of rpg’s but they are bush league.  I mean you have to kill them one at a time.  We work in bulk.  Then read that quote again and wonder if the devs have it posted somewhere in CCP headquarters.

It was the Law of the Sea, they said. Civilization ends at the waterline. Beyond that, we all enter the food chain, and not always right at the top.

We may call it ‘never undock in something you cannot replace’ but the feeling is the same.  There is a food chain and you are seldom the apex predator.  Welcome to Eve.

One last one . . .

There are many harsh lessons to be learned from the gambling experience, but the harshest one of all is the difference between having Fun and being Smart.

I live this one through most of my career in the game.  I don’t max min.  I don’t seem to work hard at making isk or doing anything.  I Have fun and most people wouldn’t think that was a smart way to play.  Except for  . . . Brave Newbies.  They are following the same concept of fun/hr instead of isk/hr.  7o my brothers in lifestyle.

Yeah, I think Hunter S Thompson would have liked this game.

No lessons, no questions, this was a quick off the cuff because I had a minute or three and wanted to get this down.  My thanks to the buys in the podcasts sekrit back channels for making me think, now and again, even if I am a carrier of tech gremlins.

Oh, If the Blog Banter folks read this . . . what other authors do you think would get eve?  A good post starter, no?

m

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to He would have liked Eve

  1. rixxjavix says:

    I think many of the great science fiction writers would appreciate Eve, I’m honestly surprised that none of them have latched onto it in some way. Heinlien, Pohl, Asimov, Niven, Bear, Piper, Ellison, Bradbury, Harrison, it is a long list. I wonder what they would make of it all.

    • I believe sometime recently, an attempt was made to bring John Scalzi (Redshirts, Old Man’s War) into EVE; his comment was that if he got into an MMO that he liked, he wouldn’t have the time to write. Can you imagine how an “elite” null PVP outfit would react if one of their own blew off a CTA because he had to get a draft to his editor?

      • mikeazariah says:

        I think, if they knew what sort of thing he was writing they might cut some slack.

        m

  2. Helena Khan says:

    Quite a few SF writers are having something of a tilt at the way in which gameplay can affect the real world. Reamde by Neal Stephenson and Halting State by Charlie Stross spring to mind as recent works.

  3. LOL. (@TheLOLDot) says:

    This blog post is so full of arrogance. How can you look at someone who lived at the edge, who had such live full of alcohol, drugs, women and violence and the claim he would have loved a pixel world with no rl consequences.
    Do you really think internetspaceshippiloting compares to riding with the big red machine?

    • mikeazariah says:

      No, but I think he would have enjoyed writing about people who do. I think he would have understood some of the metagame better than any journalist who writes first and ‘tries eve’ second would.

      My favourite was the great white shark and the Vincent black shadow.

      m

      oh, and he absolutely would have approved of arrogant writing.

Leave a Reply

