OOC When you look into the Past the Past looks into you Blog Banter 18

Welcome to the eighteenth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by none other than me, CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

On May 6th 2010, EVE Online celebrated its 7th Anniversary. Quite a milestone in MMO history, especially considering that it is one of the few virtual worlds out there to see its population continually grow year after year. For some of you who’ve been here since the very beginning, EVE has evolved quite a lot since its creation. With the expansion rolling out roughly twice a year, New Eden gets renewed and improved regularly. But, how about you the player? How has your gaming style evolved through the years or months since you’ve started playing? Have you always been a carebear, or roleplayer? Have you only focused on PvP or have you given other aspects of the game a chance – say manufacturing. Let’s hear your story!

I started playing this game over a year and a half ago and I still feel like a complete beginner. I think that speaks more to the depth of the game than it does to my shallowness of my gaming abilities (at least I hope that is the way it goes) I am a tourist and explorer and I like to try the next new thing. In this game that came down to the ‘shinies’ as I refer to each ship class. I have been driven to learn to fly different vessels based on the things I see in game but far more often by the things I read in the Blogs.

Ah the blogs. I read so bloody many of them they begin to blur together but there are the ones I look forward to, take notes from. Then there are those I skim and skip. *shrug* I pretty much assume that mine are in the skim/skip category as well because I just have to put it ‘in character’ and make it a story rather than a straight forward article. The meta-game of the blogs, the politics, the people and the trust issues made this so much more than ‘lock the red cross/kill the red cross’ (Man, even writing that makes me feel like a war criminal) The podcasts and the personalities connected with them made it even more real. My commute would be full of the Drone bay, Planet Risk, or Missions Collide. They showed me all the other styles of play and players that were out there. Wars on a scale I probably would never see, people known across the length and breadth of Eve, and ships and setups that were more than a year of training away from the poor newb listening as he hurtled down the highway.

So I chased the shinies. I got involved in the politics. Hell I even started to talk to the famous people . . . and damn if they didn’t talk back. I started this blog to . . . well, I am not sure why I started it. It is not like there is some grand plan to all of this. I just like adding stories and commenting on what is going on. So I have my own outlook on the CSM and on the hisec side of the game. Jiorj came along as an alt to let me look at the lowsec version. I have run in two elections and lost but the second loss was less than the first. My corp has made me a director but the current CEO refers to me as a Cat (dual reasons, the first connected to Red Dwarf, the second to my play style).

Have I come up with a plan? Goals?

Nope

Does that bother me?

Nope, I am having fun. Summer is right around the corner and I have tons of stories and shines to go.

I hope in a year I will be writing about how I still don’t know what I am doing but that I am still having fun. At the end of the day (and I know we all forget this, now and again) we are playing a game. We are supposed to be having fun. If this becomes like work for you . . . ask why. Is there and intrinsic value to the work? I know some of my corp work far harder than I do. I try to thank them and show I appreciate it. I jokle and tease and try to make sure they are having some fun as well.

CCP: 7 Years . . . well done.

Players: Damn, if Eve was just a single player game I woulda wiped this from my drive long ago. CCP did a nice job but they did not make a game that works, they gave US the tools and the Sandbox and WE made the game fun. For all the kudos I toss towards CCP consider it an iota of the praise you deserve. I have met con men and pirate queens, broadcasters and titans of industry, trash talking Fleet Commanders and nice quiet folks happily mining all day.

Fly you fools, fly.

Participants:

1. CrazyKinux’s Musing: The Heroes with a Thousand Faces
2. StarFleet Comms: Life. Evolved.
3. A Carebear’s Journeu: This Carebear Thinks He Is Developing Teeth
4. The Elitist: Our ventures in EVE
5. A Mule in EVE: From a guppy predator
6. Travels of the Ronin: Evolution and Adaptation
7. The Ralpha Dogs: The Past Through Tomorrow
8. Where the frack is my ship: A journey, not a destination
9. I am Keith Neilson: 7 Year Itch?
10. Inner Sanctum of the Ninveah: Evolution Me
11. EVE Opportunist: A long history of a short time
12. Roc’s Ramblings: Things Change
13. Guns Ablaze: Onwards and Upwards
14. EVE On Real Life: Haven’t you grown up yet?
15. The Fang: The path of the ninja

and a whole lot more, head back to CK’s blog for the updated list

m

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OOC When you look into the Past the Past looks into you Blog Banter 18

  1. Pingback: The Past Through Tomorrow « The Ralpha Dogs

  2. Hey Azariah, hit me up in-game. I want you in my corp. =p

Leave a Reply

